For YA & Adult Readers!

Monday, April 17, 2017

Blog Tour: The Last Chance Matinee (Review)

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes the first novel in her all-new series, The Hudson Sisters, following a trio of reluctant sisters as they set out to fulfill their father’s dying wish. In the process, they find not only themselves, but the father they only thought they knew.

When celebrated and respected agent Fritz Hudson passes away, he leaves a trail of Hollywood glory in his wake—and two separate families who never knew the other existed. Allie and Des Hudson are products of Fritz’s first marriage to Honora, a beautiful but troubled starlet whose life ended in a tragic overdose. Meanwhile, Fritz was falling in love on the Delaware Bay with New Age hippie Susa Pratt—they had a daughter together, Cara, and while Fritz loved Susa with everything he had, he never quite managed to tell her or Cara about his West Coast family.





Now Fritz is gone, and the three sisters are brought together under strange circumstances: there’s a large inheritance to be had that could save Allie from her ever-deepening debt following a disastrous divorce, allow Des to open a rescue shelter for abused and wounded animals, and give Cara a fresh start after her husband left her for her best friend—but only if the sisters upend their lives and work together to restore an old, decrepit theater that was Fritz’s obsession growing up in his small hometown in Pennsylvania’s Pocono Mountains. Guided by Fritz’s closest friend and longtime attorney, Pete Wheeler, the sisters come together—whether they like it or not—to turn their father’s dream into a reality, and might just come away with far more than they bargained for.
The Last Chance Matinee
Hudson Sisters #1
Mariah Stewart
Pub Date: 3/21/17
Gallery Books
Genre: Romance, Women's Fiction
Amazon | B&N | Kobo

Mariah Stewart has blown me away with her new series featuring the Hudson sisters. The Last Chance Matinee is a multifaceted story of family and what happens you put three sisters together to bring their father's dream to reality.

When Allie and Des come together to hear the reading of their father's will they learn of their half-sister Cara. The three girls are stunned to learn about their father's double life. Add to that revelation, his will indicates that they must head to his hometown to restore their family legacy: the Sugarhouse Theater. The only way to ensure their inheritance is to complete the restoration without bailing on the project. So the girls head to Hidden Falls, Pennsylvania to fulfill Fritz's dying dream: for the girls to know each other and their heritage.

The Last Chance Matinee lays the foundation for the series while simultaneously highlighting each of the sisters' personal situations and revealing the secrets of their father's past. To further engage readers there's romantic tension, of course, and the drama of three blindsided sisters getting to know each other. This complex storyline will suck you in immediately, because Mariah Stewart is just that good! On top of all the details she must have amassed to write a vivid, emotional story Allie, Des, and Cara are distinct characters that each have their own stories. Though The Last Chance Matinee places Cara at the forefront of this novel, the voices of all three sisters are heard throughout the story. When I realized how the story was set up in the outset of the novel I knew that I was going to breeze through. Even as Stewart juggles these three storylines the story is well-planned and easy to follow.

There's something about plots set in small towns that make for the most memorable and entertaining stories. Mariah Stewart's creation of Hidden Falls is no exception. Between the 'everyone knows everyone' connections and its quaint appeal I was really hoping that Hidden Falls was a real place I could go visit, especially since it's still firmly stuck in my head! Just as readers are able to paint a vivid mental picture of Hidden Falls, the Hudson sisters find bits and pieces of their father's childhood to paint a picture of the man he was before death. Not only are they beginning to solve the mystery of his actions, they learn the history of their descendants. Stewart knows how to keep you reading while providing a full, rich plot. Every scene leads somewhere interesting and by the end of the novel you'll know there's more to come.

I've only read a couple of Mariah Stewart's previous novels. The Last Chance Matinee seems to be written in a similar vein to the Chesapeake Diaries while also offering something different for long time fans. It would even appeal to readers of Kristan Higgans or Sophie Kinsella. I highly recommend this story to Chesapeake Diaries fans and even readers who haven't yet given Mariah Stewart a chance!
*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*

From the Preface, The Last Chance Matinee:
Everyone is familiar with the adage “write what you know”; it’s a saying that has dictated much of my decades-long career in publishing. But this time, it was what I (or rather, my mother) didn’t know that formed the basis for this first book in my new Hudson Sisters series.

When my mother was in her mid-forties, she received a letter from a woman named Alice, the wife of her recently deceased cousin Bill. Alice thanked my mother for the sympathy card she’d sent her, and finished her note by saying, “You do know that Bill was your half brother, right?”

Ah, no. She did not.

…Of course, I was fascinated. My grandfather died when I was four or five years old, and I have very little memory of him other than his deep, hearty laugh. I’ve been thinking for years that this foundation of a love child and secret siblings would make a great story; but not knowing all the facts, I was free to fill in the blanks—and so I did. Years passed before I felt I had the right story in my head. This is that story. I hope you enjoy my version of what could happen under such circumstances

—Mariah Stewart

About Mariah Stewart:

Mariah Stewart is an award-winning New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of numerous novels as well as several novellas and short stories. She lives with her husband and two rambunctious rescue dogs amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she savors county life and tends her gardens while she works on her next novel. Visit her at mariahstewart.com and follow her on Facebook.com/AuthorMariahStewart and on Instagram @mariah_stewart_books

Follow the blog tour!

March 21st
USA Today Happy Ever After – Down & Dirty Q&A

March 22nd

March 23rd
The Librarian (Authors on the Air Global Radio Network) – Interview 7:00 pm ET

March 24th

March 25th

March 27th

March 28th

March 29th

March 30th

March 31st

April 1st

April 3rd
Visit @xoxoafterdark for Monday Matinee Giveaway! #MondayMatinee

April 7th

April 10th
Visit @xoxoafterdark for Monday Matinee Giveaway! #MondayMatinee

April 14th

April 17th
Visit @xoxoafterdark for Monday Matinee Giveaway! #MondayMatinee

April 21st

April 24th
Visit @xoxoafterdark for Monday Matinee Giveaway! #MondayMatinee

May 25th
Review in First for Women magazine’s June 19th print issue, on stands May 25th!

Don't miss your chance to get up close and personal with Mariah Stewart!
Sunday, March 26th, 4:30 pm
"An Afternoon With The Author - Mariah Stewart"
Hockessin Bookshelf
7179 Lancaster Pike
Hockessin, DE 19707
Wednesday, April 5th, 6:30 pm
The Doylestown Bookshop
16 S. Main Street
Doylestown, Pa 18901

Tuesday, April 11th, 7:00 pm
Towne Book Centre
220 Plaza Drive – Ste B3
Collegeville, PA 19426

Monday Matinee Giveaway:
Follow XOXO After Dark on Twitter (@xoxoafterdark) Mondays in April to see which blogs on the blog tour will host a giveaway for The Last Chance Matinee: April 3, 10, 17, 24! #MondayMatinee


#MondayMatinee

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting! I appreciate any feedback and all comments!

Social Profiles

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Instagram RSS Feed Email Pinterest

Follow by Email

Followers

Popular Posts

Powered by Blogger.

Copyright © Lovey Dovey Books | Powered by Blogger
Design by Lizard Themes | Blogger Theme by Lasantha - PremiumBloggerTemplates.com
Lovey Dovey Books is a participant in affiliate advertising programs (Amazon, Kobo) designed to provide a means for this site to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com and Kobo.com